Social Media

Northwest University Blog

Dr. Ingle Elected President of Southeastern

Dr. Ingle Elected President of Southeastern

Northwest University is pleased to announce that Dr. Kent Ingle has been named President of Southeastern University (Lakeland, Florida).

Under Ingle's leadership as Dean since January 2005, the College of Ministry has built an impressive faculty and revised its curriculum to better prepare students for the challenges of ministry in the twenty-first century. In addition to their study at Northwest, ministry students now have greater opportunities to explore leading churches and ministry sites all over the United States and the world under Ingle's leadership.

Ingle has also overseen the development of three graduate degrees in the College of Ministry—the Master of Arts in Theology and Culture (MATC), the Master of Arts in Missional Leadership (MAML), and the Master in Ministry (MIM). The MIM, in fall 2011, will also be Northwest's first fully online degree program, tailor made to provide ministry training regardless of location.

"While this represents an undeniable loss for Northwest, we are delighted for Southeastern's gain," said Dr. Joseph Castleberry, President. "I told the search committee at Southeastern that Kent was the finest candidate available for a university presidency in the Assemblies of God, and their Board of Regents clearly agreed with me. I think our whole community should be proud of the role God allowed Northwest University to play in Kent's life, preparing him for this significant place of leadership."

Southeastern has announced that Ingle will assume responsibilities there on February 1. Before he departs, Northwest will hold a reception to honor Dr. Ingle for his many contributions and to send him, Karen and their children to this next assignment with our blessing.

Southeastern has distributed a news release with more details, it is available here.

The Provost of Northwest University will lead a process in the coming days to search for Northwest's next Dean of the College of Ministry.

Posted on Wednesday, December 15, 2010