Social Media

Northwest University Blog

The Donald H. Argue Health and Sciences Center

The Donald H. Argue Health and Sciences Center

Friends of Northwest University gathered together for the Naming Ceremony of one of the University’s newest buildings, the Donald H. Argue Health and Sciences Center (HSC). The building was named after the former President and current Chancellor of Northwest University.

During the ceremony, alumni, board members, staff and faculty, and friends of Northwest University, were recognized for their generous giving. Rooms and areas in the HSC were named after these major donors. All were a testament to Dr. Argue’s leadership and friendship.

Dr. Castleberry, President of Northwest University, recognized Dr. Argue for his vision that brought the HSC to reality. Dr. Argue received a standing ovation as the Donald H. Argue Health and Sciences Center was revealed.

Dr. Argue was the fifth president of Northwest University. During his tenure (1998 – 2007) as president, overall enrollment grew 52% and the University added more than a dozen undergraduate programs, including The Mark and Huldah Buntain School of Nursing that now occupies the Health and Sciences Center. In addition to the undergraduate programs, four graduate programs were added: the Master of Arts in Counseling Psychology, the Master of Business Administration, the Master in Teaching, and the Master of Education. He led growth that included an increase in the number of faculty and the addition of 14 new buildings, including the acquisition of a 35,000 square foot office building that served as the Center for Graduate and Professional Studies, and the construction of the Health and Sciences Center.

When asked about the Health and Sciences Center being named in his honor, Dr. Argue said, “Both Pat and I were deeply humbled by the kindness of the Board of Directors in naming the building. Our years in leadership at Northwest University have been a wonderful experience.”

Dr. Argue continues to serve Northwest University as Chancellor and also serves as a Commissioner on the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom (USCIRF), an independent, non-political and non-partisan federal agency.

Donor Recognitions

George & Norma Jean Reece
Campus View Conference Room – 205

Dr. Khoo Kay Peng
Main Lecture Hall – 104

Seattle Seahawks
Science Classroom – 102

Lloyd & Inez Martin
Classroom – 231

Friendship Church
Palm Desert, California
Classroom – 233

M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust
Entry Lounge – 100

John & Janet Butterfield
Chemistry Lab – 118

The Norcliffe Foundation
Biology Prep Lab – 119

Wallace and Mabel Johnson
Major Biology Lab – 117

Annalee Oakes
Nursing Office Suite – 208

Betty Rairden
Nursing Skills Lab – 235

Philippe & Laura Vallerand
Geology/Physics Classroom – 107

Frank Lambert
Geology/Physics Stockroom – 105

Calvary Church
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Ecology Lab – 120

Merlin Quiggle
Computer Lab – 254

Joshua Green Foundation
Math/Science Office Suite– 101

William Randolph
Microbiology Lab – 121

Northwest Ministry Network
Lobby – 103

Mission of Mercy
A Division of Bethesda
Chemistry Prep Lab – 115

Jerry & Germaine Korum
Classroom – 229

Dale & Phyllis Larson
Nursing Conference Room – 205

J. Phillip Gustafson
Classroom – 248

Burlington Resources Fund
Adjunct Nursing Faculty Office – 210

Arne & Harriet Filan
Nursing Dean Conference Room – 202

Shoreline Community Church
Nursing Conference Room – 214

John & Katherine Simpson
Nursing Conference Room – 212

Daniel & Nancy Conti
Nursing Faculty Office – 216

RWJ Executive Nursing
Fellowship Program
Nursing Dean’s Office – 206

Eastridge Assembly of God
Issaquah, Washington
Nursing Work Area – 236

Ray & Shirley Clark
Arts & Sciences Dean’s Office – 207

Gary & Margaret King
Arts & Sciences Suite – 209

Les & Darice Welk
Lounge – 203

New Life Assembly
Renton, Washington
Computer Lab – 254

Peter & Sharon Toxby
Nursing Lounge – 250

Posted on Tuesday, June 30, 2009